Elimination Diet-Day 7

I seriously can’t believe Week 1 is already over! I am very proud to say that week one was a success without any cheats! (unless you count the teaspoon of honey I used to make salad dressing last night and tonight…I’m not.) I don’t know if it’s because I’m blogging each day and I feel accountable or if it’s because this isn’t a typical weight-loss diet plan where I can tell myself “oh eating one piece of this or just a bite of that isn’t going to blow the whole thing” in this case, it totally will and I’ll have to start from scratch. Plus I’m really enjoying the way this diet forces me to be totally aware of everything I eat or drink. Also, it has given me an opportunity to flex some creative muscle in the kitchen. Just this week I have; roasted a chicken in the crock pot, made chicken stock (in the crock pot), tested an almond flour banana bread recipe, cooked up a really delicious pork tenderloin with apples and quinoa, and for dinner tonight I made a baby kale, avocado, and blood orange salad along with some veggie and chicken soup. My crock pot has definitely gotten a workout this week! It’s currently cooking up some black beans I am hoping to use for dinner tomorrow night (I’m planning on making  Chipotle-style brown rice bowls 🙂

So other than feeling fine overall I still haven’t experienced any amazing effects of this diet (ie increased mental clarity…in fact, I’ve been in a fog most of this week) but right now I feel like my focus is really good so maybe it will kick in this next week (fingers crossed!). I’m also going to try a little experiment tomorrow, I have been seriously worthless from 3PM-4PM everyday this past week. Like, up and trying to function (today I tried to cook about 4 different meals at once) but my brain feels like it’s floating behind a cloud of cotton balls…sorry I don’t know how to explain it. But it happens, no matter how much water or caffeine I drink or what I eat, everyday! So today I finally got myself together long enough to make a green juice and the fog suddenly lifted. However, it was probably a little over an hour after the fog had set in so maybe it was just the timing, or maybe it was something I snacked on before I made the juice and it just took a little time to help my blood sugar, only way to tell is to see if it happens again tomorrow and the day after that…so for the next few days I’ll be drinking a green juice at 3 every afternoon. If that doesn’t work I may have to resort to nap time…

Speaking of, it’s after 1am and I have to be up in 5 hours (I’m maxing out at 6 hours for longest night of sleep this week, WAH!) so I know I’m like a broken record but tomorrow, ill post what i ate, i promise.

night!

Edited to add:

What I ate Today:

For breakfast…honestly, I can’t remember having anything for breakfast. I woke up late and had to rush out the door, It’s very rare that I don’t eat anything for breakfast so I probably had something but I just can’t remember right now and it’s driving me crazy if you couldn’t tell.Anyway, I came home around 11 and had some chicken broth with veggies and quinoa (I made this for dinner too, it was super easy and really good! W loved it too!) I also have a tiny cup of coffee with almond milk and stevia  and then I was out the door again for a few hours. When I got home around 3 I started to cook/clean/walk around the house like a zombie. I swear I ate more than what I’m remembering but maybe these foggy afternoons are just low blood sugar. I totally snack while I cook, today it was on sprouted raw almonds, a handful of raw cacao nibs (I was hoping they’d give me an energy boost, and a few bites of apples as I made Green Juice). I also had a baby kale, apple, carrot and ginger juice that was delicious and totally invigorating. For dinner, like I said above, I had a baby kale, avocado, and blood orange salad and more soup. Then I went to Barre Fitness class and after that I had to close the bar so I bought a Kombucha and a Banana Bread Larabar to snack on while I was there. When I came home around 1am I made a cup of chamomile tea and heated up some leftover pork tenderloin from the night before, not because I was necessarily hungry but because I knew that if I didn’t eat something before trying to sleep it was never gonna happen (this is also a pretty recent development but I CAN NOT sleep if I’m hungry…which is annoying). So yeah, I think that’s everything…I guess I better start writing things down as I eat them!

 

Take care,

K

Leave a Reply

