Elimination Diet-Day 2

I’m going to need to come up with a more clever name for this if I plan to do it for 21+ days.

As day 2 comes to a close I’d like to reflect on what I learned today:

1. Must keep excedrin near me at all times. Holy caffeine withdrawal headaches Batman! I didn’t take any Sudafed today or have my green tea this morning and by 2PM I was totally out of it and had the worst headache ever (ok maybe not migraine-level bad but it wasn’t fun). W even asked me what was up when I saw him at lunch…he said I looked really out of it and I felt it. So yeah until I get over this initial detox period, excedrin will be my BFF.

2. I do not need/can not handle caffeine. As much as I LOVE it and I drink double-espressos and SF energy drinks like it’s my job they’re SO terrible for my body and this is a great opportunity to get off the juice! Plus, if I’m being honest with myself caffeine makes me a nightmare. I get jittery, anxious, sweaty and act like a psycho. Also, it initially kills my appetite which means I’ll “forget” to eat from noon til 5 and then try to eat the world at dinner time. No more.

3. I need a set meal plan. Today started out kind of rough because I didn’t have a set meal plan to follow. It was ok because right now I’m working from home but come April1 I wont have the luxury of cooking whatever I feel like for each meal. Planning ahead will ensure that I’m never left wondering what I should eat, giving me an excuse to cheat.

What I ate today:

Breakfast-was supposed to be blueberry-almond oatmeal. I used certified gluten-free oats, coconut milk, water, almond butter, cinnamon, frozen blueberries, chia seeds and a little shredded coconut. It was terrible and I say that as an oatmeal lover but these are instant oats and I like mine old fashioned and chewy. Also, I really prefer a breakfast that has some animal protein in it.Note that I didn’t say “high protein”, I was a vegetarian for almost 8 years so I know I don’t “need” animal protein but you tell that to my brain. It wants what it wants and I;ve noticed if I have a “carb-heavy” breakfast I’m more inclined to over-eat throughout the day. So yeah, I made these nast-tastic oats, decided they sucked, ate a Cherry Pie Lara Bar in the car, came home and ate the nasty oatmeal while I spaced out to an episode of Parks and Rec…not sure why, it just happened.

Then I went to the doctor for a check up, everything looks great BTW, I told her about this diet, she seemed less than interested but whatever…that took about an hour and a half. Then I met up with W, his sisters, and the most beautiful girl in the whole wide world (W’s niece, Harper who’s 2 months tomorrow). They had Mexican, I had a pecan Larabar (seriously glad I bought these but obviously I need to plan ahead and not eat one for every meal). Around 2 I finally had time to make lunch which was a big salad with chicken breast and mixed greens I prepped yesterday, radishes, avocado, cilantro and red onion. I made the most epically garlicky dressing ever using a not-as-small-as-I-thought garlic clove, EVOO and some hot sauce. My breath still reeks after 2 tooth brushings.😘

Dinner tonight shall be NY strip steaks with mashed sweet potatoes/cauliflower, sauteed spinach, and probably a Caesar salad for Mr. W.

20140306-182442.jpg
steaming away!

The final product:

20140306-224459.jpg
Ta-da:

20140306-224808.jpgadd to today’s food intake: 1 apple, 2 TBSP almond butter, one cup of chai tea made with a little coconut cream and stevia.

My energy was fine today, got some work done this evening, my mood was also pretty good! I don’t really feel exceptional but I don’t feel bad either…the only thing I dislike so far is I don’t like being on a “diet”. I generally just eat what I want, it just so happens that 95% of the time what I want is really really good for me. However, this winter brought with it lots of cookies, late night ice cream/snack runs, and overall just a few pounds of “love chub” I could really do without. So now I’m craving almond M&M’s (still) but I suspect these junk food cravings will pass in a few days. I’m hoping this exercise will help reprogram my brain into craving healthy foods.

Sweet dreams everyone! Thanks for reading ♥

 

Leave a Reply

