Perfect lil lunch.

 

20131104-143057.jpg

Hey guys! I’m sickie (I wonder if being stressed out about my thesis has anything to do with it? 😒) so that sucks. As a result, my appetite has been shot to hell and nothing sounds good! I’m def one of those people who has to get mentally prepared for whatever they’re about to eat (I don’t know if anyone else actually does this, if you do please let me know I’m not alone!). Anyway, as you (may or may not) know, I am currently working on my thesis (well not currently) so I need to keep my blood sugar stable and energy level up (or as up as it can be). So I whipped up this lil dime of a meal and it was so good I ran and grabbed my phone just to share it with you! I’m calling it my Super Yum Sammie Whammie because I’m delirious, feel free to just call it delicious.

Use This:

a toaster

small bowl

a knife

a fork

1 slice of Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Bread

about 1/3 of an avocado

1 egg

tapatio to taste

mixed greens (I used baby greens and arugula I got at the farmers market)

roasted yellow peppers

side note: you could use jarred roasted red peppers but I bought a whole bunch of yellow peppers on sale at Meijer last week so I roasted them under the broiler til the skins blistered, peeled, seeded and sliced them and then stored them in a glass jar. They’re excellent and a great addition to any dish.

Do This:

toast bread to desired toasty-ness

meanwhile, crack egg into bowl (I sprayed a tiny dish with Pam, sue me it’s all I had), cover with a damp paper towel and microwave for about 2 minutes.

side note #2: microwave times/temps vary yada yada yada. Just watch that sucker and when the egg white is all solid and the yolk is however you like it, hit cancel.

when toast is done, smoosh avocado onto it using your fork, add a few slashes of hot sauce ( I like tapatio ) to taste.

next, stick your mixed greens on top. The avocado helps keep them from falling off.

then, delicately lay a few strips of roasted pepper over the greens

finally, top with egg and a few grinds of fresh black pepper.

devour.

This, my friends, isn’t just a meal, it’s an experience. The crunchy bread, the cool creamy avocado, the sweet, juicy, peppers and tender baby greens, punctuated by the spicy tapatio and peppery arugula, all covered in glorious, golden egg yolk and fluffy egg white translates into something that I can only describe as heavenly.

 

Leave a Reply

