Blueberry Chia Jam

blueberry-jamphoto source: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/blueberry-jam-2-550.jpg 

Just call me Martha…

This lil recipe took maybe 20 mins to make and is seriously so good I can’t even stand it! Not only did I have all 4 of the ingredients in my kitchen already, I also had a clean glass jar waiting to be filled! (seriously, my life is crazy right now so the fact that these things came together is a huge deal to me). Anywhoo, I adapted this recipe from the back of Bob’s Redmill Chia Seed. It’s gluten-free, high fiber, lactose free, low cal, low carb, low-fat, soy free, vegan and DELICIOUS. It received the Boyfriend and Sister Stamps of Approval (which are hard to come by). Added bonus, no canning means you won’t be giving anyone botulism! Hooray. It would be great on muffins, toast, in place of syrup over pancakes, over some Greek yogurt or just on a spoon because maybe you haven’t been to the grocery store in a while and you’re just really excited that you made jam! Blueberry Chia Jam adapted from Bob’s Redmill recipe

  • 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries
  • 1/8 cup Agave Nectar
  • 1/8 cup Chia Seed
  • 1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract

Directions

Step 1

Combine berries and agave in a small saucepan. Cook over medium heat until berries begin to soften and burst, about 5 minute.

Step 2

Add chia seeds and cook until very thick, about 15 minutes. Stir often. Optional: lick spoon until mouth turns blue.

Step 3

Remove from heat and let cool then add vanilla extract. Step 4

Put jam in a pretty glass jar and take pictures of jam (Note to self: food pics look terrible with iPhone camera). Show everyone what a domestic goddess you are!
Store in the refrigerator for up to 7 days. Makes 5 servings.
7 comments
  1. I’m going to try this in a few days if I can find chia seeds at the store. It sounds soooo good!

    • Yay! I hope you do! It is seriously SO easy and SO SO good! I’ve already made a second batch and I’m thinking of trying it with strawberries next. Thanks for your comment 🙂

  2. looks delicious! I’ll have to make it! we have chia seeds in the cabinet 🙂

  3. I’m giving this a go even as we “speak.” I’m a little leery. Leary? Anyway…last time I made chia pudding, I experienced vertigo for a few days. Here goes nothin’! I love chia, so I hope it was just a coincidence.

    • Denise,
      I just realized that my post never made it up…how did everything turn out?

Leave a Reply

